top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCaitlynSarahDavis

Positive Panic: Online Teaching and Taking Home Your Local Cafe

"Please don't show up, please don't show up, please done show up." Those are probably every online teachers' initial thoughts as they log onto Zoom My first full week of online English classes went well and more students joined as the week progressed. Word must've got out that you could wear your pajamas and reconnect with your classmates while covered in a blanket. Four out of the usual 12-15 students showed up - which is a handful considering the circumstances. I'd rather have 1 motivated student than 15 faces floating around Zoomland rolling their eyes.


5 Things I Like About Online Classes (Before I Complain)

1. I can disappear with the click of a button (blame it on the Wi-Fi)

2. I can mute students (but I'd rather they talk English)

3. I can organize notes easier online

4. I am saving many trees

5. I don't have to throw away markers every 5 days.


On the flipside, my eyes, back and butt are sore from sitting for 6 hours a day (plus an hour prepping) and I have to stare out the sunny window wishing I could get more fresh air.

Free massages for teachers after this is over? Thanks. Nevertheless, I made up for the sedentary week by exploring the local trails and filling my lungs with fresh Spring air. The sun was shining this morning and beckoned me to forget the masked chaos below.




Besides walks, finding the light in a quarantine day is as simple as a quick pick-me-up from your local eatery. While the majority of restaurants are closed, a handful are offering take-out and delivery!

A sense of normality is needed in times like these and a cup of joe from your usual haunt provides security. Today, for example, I'd usually be having brunch at Fire & Stone with my husband. But, luckily, we were able to take it home and stay away from potential sick people. The food was delicious as usual - just with a different dining perspective, and with my husband as the waitress.



My advice to you then is: 1. Find security and support your local cafe if it's open

2. Walk and walk and walk until you feel better.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page